Download: Track & Field Records Presents, Volume 1: Spooky Jamz

Hey there. Long time, no see.

Here is a compilation of the Halloween songs we've recorded over the years. We have two from Snow Monster!, and one each from Juicebox Hero and The Best Buddies Crew. Enjoy the songs and have a happy Halloween!


1. Snow Monster! - Goops
2. Juicebox Hero - R U A Skeleton?
3. The Best Buddies Crew - Corn Nite
4. Snow Monster! - The Witches & The Ghost

P.S. The actual album artwork (this is just a poor quality photo) is currently living on our other laptop which refuses to start up properly. We'll fix it when we get the chance.




Download: Ready In Seconds

Snow Monster released their sophomore album, Ready In Seconds, in July of 2008.
The weekly Louisville paper The LEO wrote the following review:
"Miley Cyrus ain’t got nothin’ on Mabel, the 5-year-old lead singer of Louisville’s own Snow Monster!
The indie/new wave/post-punk band’s second album, Ready in Seconds, features new original material written by Mabel herself. She touches on global issues and the importance of community efforts in “Handz R 4 Helping,” the challenges of suffering an identity crisis in “Now That I’m a Lemon,” and updates listeners with a recurring theme in “Snow Monster (Part 2).” The album includes instrumentation by Mabel’s dad, Dustin, as well as 6-year-old drummer Luke (who is also in the band Sea Monster, not to be confused) and even a visit from the ever-soothing voice of WFPK’s Laura Shine.
The album is brilliant fun, with music mixed electronically with Mabel’s lyrics, each track creative and unique. It’s more than just cute, and I think we all kind of wish we were that cool when we were 5. If she keeps this up, there’s no doubt she’ll go platinum by second grade." —Jane Mattingly

Once again, this download differs slightly from the original CD release.


1. Handz R 4 Helping
2. Rock & Roll Nicole
3. Now That I'm A Lemon
4. Who's There?
5. Snow Monster (Part 2) featuring Jimmy Conway
6. Make Yr Own Kind Of Music

All songs by Mabel and Dustin except #1 music by Steve Wethington, #5 some lyrics by Addam Vessa and #6 originally recorded by Mama Cass and written by Barry Mann/Cynthia Weil.

Have a happy New Year!


Download: Untitled (Unicorn #2) b/w Hey 2nite

It has been quite a while since our last post, but we have been very busy @ the T&FR HQ. Mabel just turned 7 on Sept 19th & Oskar turned 4 on Sept 23rd. They got a lot of great presents and birthday greetings and they really appreciated it all. We r also putting the finishing touches on some new material. Lastly, Dustin has been a bit of a slacker but promises 2 try harder in the future.


Untitled (Unicorn #2) originally appeared (hidden track style) on the Louisville Is For Lovers 2008 compilation put out each year by John King & co. We were totally excited 2 b featured with such heroes/comrades such as Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, One Small Step, The Gallery Singers and many other great Louisville bands. The Backseat Sandbar review can be found here. FYI, This is the second song 2 feature our friend Doug Whitaker playing keyboard (incidentally the first was 'The Last Unicorn' from Stone Cold Treasures).

Hey 2nite was recorded early on 4 a CCR tribute compilation which was never released. We still love the song and that is Mabel on harmonica (if u listen carefully u can hear Oskar cheering her on in the background).


1. Untitled (Unicorn #2)
2. Hey 2nite



Download: Racecars b/w Monster Truck Power

Racecars b/w Monster Truck Power is the highly anticipated (srsly, rite?) first release from Juicebox Hero. Ever since recording these, we here at T&FR HQ have been made 2 listen 2 them repeatedly by Oskar himself. We r so lucky. We hope u like them as much as he does.

1. Racecars
2. Monster Truck Power



Enter Juicebox Hero

While Mabel and Snow Monster! have their feet firmly planted in the ground of unicorns and keytars, her three year old brother Oskar takes his new side project into the uncharted territory of garbage trucks and hair bands. Never one to let his older sister have all of the glory, Oskar really brings everything 2 the table with this new endeavour. Be sure 2 check out the Myspace page 4 all relevant info and new songs.



Download: Kroaks (Live) b/w No More Sea Monster (Live)

"Kroaks (Live) b/w No More Sea Monster (Live)" was recorded in Lexington, KY on April 26, 2008. Mabel, Luke and Dustin played FreeKY Fest, a music and arts festival celebrating the 20th anniversary of college station WRFL. Other bands included Robbert Bobbert & The Bubble Machine, The Apples In Stereo, Jolie Holland, Mahjongg, The Coup, Hair Police and Pezhead & The Blipsquad. It was an amazing day 2 say the least. We would love 2 thank Amberly Warnke and Ross Compton in particular 4 being such amazing and gracious hosts. You can read a review of the show on You Ain't No Picasso (one of our all time fav music blogs).

1. Kroaks (Live)
2. No More Sea Monster (Live)

BTW, that is Luke "Sea Monster" Lewis playing the drum solo after NMSM. He totally brought his A game that day.